clubhouse, east hampton, indoor, tennis, cornhole, bar, happy hour, bowling, mini golf

Story - News

Jul 8, 2015 9:23 AMPublication: The Southampton Press

Westhampton Beach Village Trustees Rubio, Tymann Are Sworn In; New Advisory Committees Formed

Westhampton Beach Village Clerk Elizabeth Lindtvit, left, swears Trustee Rob Rubio in to office on Monday night during the Village Board's reorganizational meeting. KYLE CAMPBELL
Jul 8, 2015 12:52 PM

After its two newest members were sworn in, the Westhampton Beach Village Board resurrected a pair of defunct advisory boards and created a new one during its annual organizational meeting on Monday night.

The meeting opened with recently elected Village Trustees Rob Rubio and Brian Tymann taking their oaths of office from Village Clerk Elizabeth Lindtvit, followed by members voting on their annual appointments. In addition to the standard positions that are renewed annually, the board brought back two boards that had gone dormant in recent years and created a third.

The board reinstated the village’s Ethics Board, which was originally created in 2011, and its Conservation Advisory Board, which dates back to 1985. Village Trustee Ralph Urban will serve on the Ethics Board along with residents Carol Matthews, Bob Lilley, Ralph Hubbard and Barbara Rasmussen. Meanwhile, Mr. Tymann will lead the Conservation Advisory Board, which will also include Westhampton Beach residents William Bennett, Patricia Schaefer, Christopher Clapp and Raymond Dowd.

Based on the recommendations from an audit conducted by the New York State Workers Compensation Alliance in May, the Village Board also created a Safety Committee, which will meet quarterly to discuss issues of employee safety. That board will be comprised of Mayor Maria Moore, Deputy Mayor Charles Palmer, Ms. Lindtvit, Police Chief Trevor Gonce, Building and Zoning Administrator Paul Houlihan, Public Works Superintendent John Kearns, Police Benevolent Association President Brian Prescott, Westhampton War Memorial Ambulance Chief Albert Tudisco and Code Enforcement Officer Bridget Napoli.

Ms. Moore said there were no specific incidents that prompted the reinstatement of the ethics and conservation boards, though she stated that both are necessary.

The Conservation Advisory Board will meet twice a month to discuss ways for making the village more environmentally friendly. Ms. Moore said she would like to see its members review some of the green technologies being discussed in other municipalities, such as rain gardens, canal dredging and permeable reactive barriers, or PRBs, which typically utilize wood chips or other organic material to filter groundwater.

“We’ve talked about installing [a PRB] at the head of the canal, behind the stores on Main Street,” Ms. Moore said. “I don’t think it’s terribly expensive, but there are probably grants available to help offset the cost.”

Ms. Moore and Mr. Tymann agreed that a major focus of the Conservation Advisory Board would be to find ways of supplementing the proposed sewer district that the Village Board would like to see eventually installed.

Mr. Tymann said his background in environmental science and experience as a Southampton Town Trustee have prepared him for the position. “Very similar to what I did on the Town Conservation Board, what I want to do first and foremost is educate taxpayers and property owners on what they can do to help the environment,” he said.

The Ethics Board, which is being resurrected after at least two years of dormancy, will not meet regularly but rather in ad hoc situations, when an issue arises, Ms. Moore said.

In addition to the new positions, the Village Board approved its regular appointments: the Riverhead law firm Esseks, Hefter and Angel was retained to serve as village attorneys, Anthony Rattoballi will remain on as special district attorney, and Frances Fineo will remain on as acting village justice.

Trustee Charles Palmer was named deputy mayor for the second straight year and Mr. Urban will continue as the village’s marriage officer. Gregory Minasian, Gerard Piering and Victor Levy were reappointed as chairs of the village’s Architectural Review Board, Zoning Board of Appeals and Planning Board, respectively. Irina Richardson was reappointed to a five-year term on the Architectural Review Board and Frank DelGiudice was appointed to a five-year term on the Zoning Board of Appeals.

Mr. Tymann abstained from four votes on board appointees, a vote to accept the minutes of the previous board meeting, the appointing of three lifeguards, a resolution to replace the bench seats at Rogers Beach, a resolution to appoint a part-time public works employee and a resolution to authorize the village to fix up a dilapidated lot on Sunset Avenue.

He later explained that most of his abstentions were for the appointments of people he was not familiar with. “I have absolutely nothing to say about the appointments—I just don’t know them,” Mr. Tymann said. “Looking to the future, I don’t want anyone to say to me, if there’s ever an issue, ‘Well, why did you appoint that person when you had no idea who they are?’”

You've read 1 of 7 free articles this month.

Already a subscriber? Sign in

Me thinks Mr Tyman needs to pay a visit to Mens Warehouse
By CaptainSig (716), Dutch Harbor on Jul 10, 15 5:13 PM
1 member liked this comment
LOL...but that shirt is from Banana Republic...not nice enough??? I even tucked it in!
Also, just FYI...my last name has 2 "n's"
By briantymann (31), westhampton beach on Feb 19, 16 10:40 AM