clubhouse, east hampton, indoor, tennis, cornhole, bar, happy hour, bowling, mini golf

Story - News

Dec 11, 2012 9:46 PMPublication: The Southampton Press

Dombkowski Wins Close Vote For Commissioner In Bridgehampton Fire District Vote

Dec 12, 2012 10:34 AM

A record turnout and a tight race in Bridgehampton headlined the results of fire district elections around the region on Tuesday night.

In the Bridgehampton Fire District, incumbent commissioner Tom Dombkowski edged ambulance company veteran Philip Cammann to win a seat on the district’s Board of Fire Commissioners, amid record turnout. Dean Foster, who was running unopposed, was also elected to the board.

With 272 district residents casting ballots at the Bridgehampton Firehouse on Tuesday night, the most in recent memory, Mr. Dombkowski beat out Mr. Cammann, 138-118. Mr. Foster earned 226 votes. Department member Nick Hemby also received one write-in vote for a commissioner’s seat.

“This was the largest turnout I’ve ever heard of,” Commissioner Steve Halsey said.

Mr. Dombkowski was appointed to the board earlier this fall after former commissioner John Muse resigned over internal disagreements about the handling of disciplinary steps taken against the fire department’s former chief, Tim Doran. He will serve just a two-year term before having to stand for election again. Mr. Foster will serve a full five-year term. He was appointed to replace Jeff Louchheim, who also resigned with Mr. Muse, nodding to the internal conflict.

Mr. Cammann, a professional paramedic and EMS instructor at Stony Brook University, had campaigned for a board seat on the position that the five-member commissioners board should have a seated representative from the department’s ambulance company. The three sitting members of the board are all former department 
chiefs and Mr. Foster is a former firefighter, though he is not currently a member of the department.

Also, in voting among the Bridgehampton Fire Department membership this week, Gary Horsburgh was elected chief for 2013. Chuck Broadmeadow will serve as 1st assistant chief, and Jeffrey White was elected as 2nd assistant chief.

In North Sea, former North Sea Fire Chief John Washabaugh was reelected to the North Sea Fire District’s Board of Commissioners with 36 votes, according to district chairman Edward DiMonda Sr. The race was uncontested.

Mr. Washabaugh, who was first elected to the board in 2006, will serve a second five-year 
term, rejoining Mr. DiMonda, Richard White, Michael Behringer and Gregory Robins on the board.

Twenty-eight Southampton Fire District taxpayers reelected former fire chief and board incumbent Brian P. Cooke on Tuesday night. There were no contenders or write-in candidates.

Mr. Cooke just completed two years on the board in place of former Commissioner Fred Andrews, and will rejoin commissioners David Price, Bill Pell, Roy “Buddy” Wines and Thomas White for a full five-year term.

Mr. Cooke, who lives in Tuckahoe, is the supervisor and vice president of operations at Hampton Jitney.

In the East Quogue Fire District, incumbent Jonathan Erwin won with 97 votes. Michael Kohler received 30. Fifteen votes were voided.

In the Hampton Bays Fire District, incumbent Kevin Kenny won with 338 votes. Jeremy Brandt received 35. Three votes were voided.

You've read 1 of 7 free articles this month.

Already a subscriber? Sign in